1402 Saint James Court,
The Conrad-Caldwell House Museum, one of the finest examples of Richardsonian Romanesque architecture, was the masterpiece of famed local architect Arthur Loomis of Clarke & Loomis. Surrounded by a beautiful courtyard neighborhood at the center of the largest collection of Victorian Homes in the US, “Conrad’s Castle” featured all the latest innovations of its day, including interior plumbing and electric lighting. Known for its beautiful woodwork and parquet floors, this massive Bedford limestone home, covered with gargoyles, beautiful archways, and elaborate stone designs, incorporated 7 types of hardwoods and magnificent stained glass windows in the interior design, making it one of the most stunning homes in Old Louisville. The Museum has been lovingly restored to the Edwardian Age, housing a massive collection of period items including many original pieces, and stands as a testament to the abundant lifestyle of the owners, two of Louisville’s most prominent businessmen and entrepreneurs, Theophile Conrad and William E. Caldwell. Step back in time as you learn more about the era, the neighborhood, and the families who lived here.